KL Rahul makes comeback in India Test squad for Sri Lanka series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 15-member India Squad for Sri Lanka series, starting August 12 at the Galle. India are slated to play three Test matches.

Opener KL Rahul, who missed the one-off Test against Bangladesh in June owing to illness, has been drafted into the squad. Rahul is currently playing for India A in the unofficial Test against Australia A.

The Test opener made his debut against Australia, and scored his maiden Test century at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Meanwhile, leg-spinner Karn Sharma was not considered for the series, as he is still recovering from an injury, which made him miss the Zimbabwe limited-over series. Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar is also included in the squad.

India Squad for Sri Lanka Series: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Harbhajan Singh, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra & Varun Aaron.