Chennaiyin FC Clinch Indian Super League 2015 Title

Chennaiyin FC have won the Indian Super League 2015 title by beating FC Goa 3-2 in the final at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Fatorda in a high-octane match. Stiven Mendoza was the star performer for Chennaiyin FC and was instrumental in all three goals scored by the visitors.

The first goal of the match was scored by Bruno Pelissari off a rebound, when Goa’s goalkeeper saved a penalty, which the visiting team got when Mendoza was brought down inside the box.

Goa, however, was quick to make it 1-1 when a Romeo Fernandez’s fantastic cross was tapped in by Thongkhosiem Haokip. Joffre than put the hosts in front by converting a free-kick, just three minutes before the final whistle.

But, Chennai showed nerves of steel and struck back with two quick goals to seal the game. First, Goa goalkeeper punched the ball into his own goal, minutes later Mendoza stunned the home team by clinically putting the ball into the goal.

Mendoza got the Golden Boot Award for scoring 13 goals, while Edel received the Golden Glove Award. Jeje Lalpekhlua was named the emerging player of the league.

League Awards:

Club Award: Chennaiyin FC
Golden Boot Award: Stiven Mendoza [Chennaiyin FC]
Golden Glove Award: Edel Bete [Chennaiyin FC]
ISL Emerging Player of the League: Jeje Lalpekhlua [Chennaiyin FC]
Hero of the League: Stiven Mendoza [Chennaiyin FC]